Bowls: Strong field welcomes back Farsley favourite

TOP DUO: Steve Kane and Jim Bird, who were one of the winning pairs in the latest heat of the Potternewton Winter Pairs.
TOP DUO: Steve Kane and Jim Bird, who were one of the winning pairs in the latest heat of the Potternewton Winter Pairs.
Have your say

The final of the Farsley Winter Pairs takes place this Sunday from 11am, with 16 pairs all in with a strong chance of taking home their share of the £1,240 prize pot – with £400 going to the winner.

The competition has been a long-standing fixture in the autumn calendar, even after it opted to take a year off last year in a bid to preserve the quality of the Farsley green.

The return this year has seen a series of strong pairings vying for the title, with competitors from as far afield as North Wales as well as a smattering of familiar local and South Yorkshire names thrown into the mix.

The 16 pairs are: Clarke and Kelly (Sheffield); Slater and Slater (Colwyn Bay); Wider and Wider (Farsley); Mailer and partner (Sheffield); Spink and Goodall (Cranmore); Wike and Hanson (Pudsey); King and Oddy (Cranmore); Lonnia and Crawshaw (Sheffield); Biancardo and Biancardo (Yeadon); Mylan and Beardsworth (Eccleshill/Pudsey); Buxton and Buxton (Skipton); Lloyd and Thompson; Hepworth and Barker (Myrtle Park); Calvert and Matthews (Rawdon); Hight and Norris (Farsley); and Preston and Wilczynski (Shipley).

Meanwhile, now is the time to dip our toes back into the review of the season and it’s the cup competitions to finish off this week.

Armley Park were the champions in the Terry & Jennifer Caine Cup. The team, on a mid-handicap, beat Cranmore ‘A’ by one shot, having used their full 20-shot handicap to their advantage.

The winners came through from the preliminary round to take the title.

New Farnley dominated the Y.E. News cup. The side broke 200 points in both their quarter-final and semi-final matches, before beating Holbeck Ltd by 48 shots (190-142) in the final.

Gildersome enjoyed a similarly comfortable final win in the Trigg Cup, beating South Leeds Cons by 50 shots (195-145). However, unlike New Farnley, they had to come through two games by single figures en route to the title.

Elsewhere, Holt Park took the Burton Cup with a 20-shot, 159-139 win over Meanwood ‘B’ while Rothwell BC ‘A’ won the Penrose Cup with a 121-93 win over New Wortley.

Armley Park took their second title of the season as they beat fellow cup champions New Farnley ‘A’ in the final of the Cyril Worsnop Cup. Having beaten Hunslet Moor in the semi-final, Armley Park took the title with a 144-126 win.

The result means that Armley Park finished the season with two cup wins and the Tuesday League Division Two title – finishing just ahead of New Farnley ‘A’.

The Leeds Park Veteran’s League is split into three divisions, with one played on a Tuesday and two on a Thursday.

The Hollies S&SC took the Tuesday title with two wins and six points more than second-placed West Royd Park ‘A’.

Division One on Thursday went to Churwell Park by just three points. They beat Bramley Park ‘A’ to the title, though both sides won one less game than third-placed Scatcherd Park ‘A’ with Burley Park unlucky to finish fourth, having won the same number of games as the top two sides.

Division Two on Thursday was less dramatic, with clear water (18 points) between Armley Park ‘B’ at the top and Pudsey Park ‘A’ in second.

The North East Leeds Veterans has four divisions, with each title decided purely by the highest aggregate points scored throughout the season. It makes for what appears to be a high- scoring contest, with three of the four champions close to breaking 3,000 points from their 20 games.

The four divisional champions were Whitkirk BC ‘A’, North Leeds ‘A’, Whitkirk BC ‘B’ and Colton BC.

Whitkirk were also victorious in the league’s President Cup. Whinmoor ‘A’ were the other winners in the league’s John Mulkerrin Cup.

Morton House were the big winners in the Mirfield League, arguably the strongest league in the region. They took the title by two shots from Lower Hopton, with last year’s champions Thongsbridge C&BC third.

The three Leeds contenders finished in a pack in midtable, with two sides (Pudsey and Littlemoor) ending their campaign with a 50/50 season. Pudsey finished fifth above Crossgates and Littlemoor.

The other divisional champions were Spen Victoria (Two), Woodland Park (Three), Brighouse Sports ‘B’ (Four), Kirkheaton Cons (Five), Dorothy Hyman (Six), Lowerhouse (Seven), Netherton Cons ‘B’ (Eight), Slaithwaite C&BC (Nine) and Bradley & Colne ‘B’ (Ten).

Of the Leeds’ interest, Crossgates ‘B’ finished second in Division Three (one place above Littlemoor ‘B’); Garforth Rec were second in Division Four and Whitkirk BC second in Division Five.

Next week we’ll focus on the Barkston Ash and Crossgates and District leagues as well as leagues outside the city boundary

* There were five group winners in the Potternewton Winter Pairs last Sunday: P Hill and M Holmes, S Kane and J Bird, M Wilson and B Dowling, M Hall and C Oddy and P Harrison and D Burns.

David Walker with the ABA Men's Merit trophy.

Bowls: Walker claims convincing Men’s Merit title victory