Race is on for children’s mayor

Amy Eckworth-Jones, the Leeds Children's Mayor from 2014/15
Amy Eckworth-Jones, the Leeds Children's Mayor from 2014/15
Have your say

Twelve school children are campaigning to become the new Leeds Children’s Mayor.

Voting is under way in this year’s competition, which saw record entrants, with 36 city primary schools submitting their best manifestos.

Primary school pupils in year six were invited to enter the Leeds Children’s Mayor programme by writing a short manifesto on how they would improve the city if they were the Children’s Mayor. The manifesto had to be based on one of the 12 wishes for a more child-friendly Leeds including travel and safe play areas.

The Lord Mayor of Leeds Councillor Judith Chapman said: “The calibre of the manifestos has been very impressive. I’m sure the voting will be close this year with so many interesting and considered ideas. All the young people have done extremely well to get through to the final of the competition and I hope they all continue with their interest in local democracy.”

Last year Amy Eckworth-Jones from Strawberry Fields Primary School was elected as the 2014-15 Children’s Mayor of Leeds.

The 12 manifestos have been uploaded to the Breeze website so youngsters can vote for their three favourite entries at www.breezeleeds.org/HaveYourSay/Pages/Leeds-Childrens-Mayor.aspx.

The candidates are: Hannah Begum, Hunslet Moor Primary School; Leon Catterick, Kippax North Junior and Infant School; Faye Cavanagh, Hill Top Primary School; Megha Chandrashekar, Colton Primary School; Polly Fines, Rufford Park Primary School; Leah Hebden, Queensway Primary School; Daisy Lavelle, Horsforth Newlaithes Primary School; Leah Nicholson, Beechwood Primary School; Laury Soppo, Wykebeck Primary School; Leia Speirs, Strawberry Fields Primary School; Mia Stockton, Allerton Bywater Primary School and Alex Tyler, Cookridge Holy Trinity Primary School.