10 hidden Ilkley secrets that even most local people don’t know

It's the book that explores Ilkley's secret hidden history through a fascinating selection of stories, facts and photographs.

Thursday, 19th September 2019, 6:12 am
Secret Ilkley.

Secret Ilkley goes behind the façades of the familiar to discover the lesser-known aspects of the town's long and illustrious past. Local author Mark Hunnebell takes the reader on an enlightening and entertaining journey through the past, delving beneath the surface to reveal dark deeds and strange tales with long-forgotten facts and amusing stories. The book is out now via Amberley Publishing priced at £14.99. LOVE LEEDS, LOVE RETRO? Join 'Leeds Retro' on facebook

The northern elevation of Wells House. This grand building has survived two fires, one in 1908 and one in 1951; both in the north-east turret, and both quickly brought under control.
Among the many houses built during the 1900s was Heathcote, designed by Edwin Lutyens, on Grove Road.
The former Christian Science Church, now Wells Road Business Centre.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The frontage of the former International Wool Secretariat, Valley Drive.
The advertising board on the right of this photograph was perfectly positioned for passers-by in Brook Street to look along Railway Road and see at a glance what was being shown at the cinema. This photo dates from 1958.
Remember the Il Trovatore nightclub on Leeds Road? The Trav, as it was colloquially known, closed its doors for the last time in February 2006 and became part of Ilkley folklore.
The old Brewery building. This became part of Daltons Moorland Food Factory manufacturing cereals, and then in the early 1950s Spooner Engineering.
Ilkley Golf Club, 1900s. Here some of the ground staff are pictured outside the old pavilion.
The restored Viewstation direction marker outside White Wells today.
Darwin Gardens Millennium Green. Originating from an idea by local historian Frazer Irwin, Ilkleys Millennium Green was opened by a former town resident, author Jilly Cooper, on June 24, 2000.