YEP Best of Health Awards Dentist of the Year: Dr Simon Agabeg

Simon Agabeg with Nicola Furbisher and Clare Frisby
Simon Agabeg with Nicola Furbisher and Clare Frisby
Have your say

The passion shown by Simon Agabeg led to him being awarded the Dentist of the Year Award.

Dr Agabeg, of New Smile Dental Care on Selby Road, was also honoured for his dedication and professionalism.

He was named the winner for his drive to provide the best care for patients with the most-up-to-date techniques as well as communicating clearly, but with a sense of humour which puts everyone at ease. The dentist was also praised for monitoring patients between check-ups and making sure appointments are not missed.

Dr Agabeg said: “This is the category that everyone loves to hate and it’s so nice that someone has nominated me as I’m just doing my job.

“It’s nice that someone appreciates what I do but this is not just for me, but for the whole team. It’s a complete team award.”

He added that technology has improved dental care.

“People don’t need to be in fear of going to the dentist because we have got so much amazing technology to make it a much more pleasant experience,” he said.

The other shortlisted dentists were Caroline Malach, of the Dental Surgery on Austhorpe Road, and Claire Hawker from the Specialist Dental Service at Armley Moor Health Centre.