Leeds Rhinos v Wakefield Trinity: Injury toll takes three steps forward ... but two back

THREE PLAYERS have been crossed off Leeds Rhinos' injury list, but two more names are added.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 13th July 2018, 12:01 am
Updated Monday, 16th July 2018, 4:42 pm
Anthony Mullally.
Anthony Mullally.

Centre Ash Handley, prop Mitch Garbutt and second-row Carl Ablett have been included in Rhinos’ initial squad for tonight’s derby at home to Wakefield Trinity, but forwards Brett Delaney (facial wound) and Anthony Mullally (concussion) were hurt in last week’s defeat by Castleford Tigers and drop out.

Ablett has not played since suffering a calf injury in Rhinos’ Ladbrokes Challenge Cup quarter-final win over Leigh Centurions last month.

Handley has missed two games with a hamstring injury and a knee problem kept Garbutt out of last Sunday’s match.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Nathaniel Peteru, Mitch Garbutt and Brett Delaney.

Hooker Brad Dwyer, who has played two successive games on dual registration for Featherstone Rovers and scored six tries as a substitute against Rochdale a fortnight ago, has been recalled and second-rower Cameron Smith – 18th man last week – is also included.

Half-back Jordan Lilley drops out and still unavailable are centres Kallum Watkins (knee) and Jimmy Keinhorst (hamstring) (knee), back-rower Jamie Jones-Buchanan (knee) and prop Nathaniel Peteru (biceps).

Half-back Liam Finn has been left out from the Trinity side which was beaten by Catalans Dragons six days ago.

Backs Max Jowitt and Mason Caton-Brown, who were unused members of last week’s initial 19-man squad, retain their place and forward James Batchelor is in contention after a one-game lay-off with concussion.

Full-back Scott Grix (shoulder) and prop Craig Huby (knee) remain on the casualty list. Coach Chris Chester had hoped to welcome back centre Joe Arundel following an ankle injury, but he has not been included in the initial squad.

Leeds Rhinos: from Golding, T Briscoe, L Sutcliffe, Hall, Moon, Myler, Cuthbertson, Parcell, Singleton, Ablett, Ward, Dwyer, Garbutt, Ferres, Handley, Walker, Smith, Oledzki, Walters.

Wakefield Trinity: from Annakin, Arona, Ashurst, Batchelor, Caton-Brown, England, Fifita, Hampshire, Hirst, Horo, Johnstone, Jones-Bishop, Jowitt, Lyne, Miller, Pauli, Randell, Tupou, Wood.

Referee: Robert Hicks (Oldham).

Kick-off: Tonight, 7.45pm.