Leeds hosts MOBO Awards 2015: Video cost just £40 to film says Stormzy

Stormzy. PIC: Tony Johnson
Stormzy. PIC: Tony Johnson
Have your say

Best video nominee Stormzy revealed his effort cost just £40 to film as he arrived at the 2015 MOBO Awards in Leeds.

Stormzy, nominated for Best Male, Best Video and Best Grime Act, beat last year’s winner Skepta, who said his video cost £80.

“I think we beat him. It cost about £40 to £50,” he laughed of the Know Me From video which also stars his mother.

She was “buzzing” from the video’s success, he said, and promised he would be bringing her along as his date to next year’s show.

Lethal Bizzle, Krept and Konan and Ella Eyre also greeted fans as they arrived on the carpet.

Chart-topping stars such as Rita Ora, Mark Ronson and Jess Glynne face competition from grime acts Krept and Konan and JME at this year’s awards.

Ora, currently a judge on The X Factor alongside Simon Cowell, Cheryl Fernandez-Versini and Nick Grimshaw, received a nod for Best Video for Body On Me, which also features Chris Brown, while Ronson, who has enjoyed global success with Uptown Funk, his collaboration with Bruno Mars, is up for prizes in two categories - Best Male and Best Song.

This year’s Mobo Awards are dominated by London’s grime and hip hop acts, with Krept and Konan and JME receiving four nominations each.

Krept and Konan, comprising Casyo “Krept” Johnson and Karl “Konan” Wilson, released their debut album, The Long Way Home, in July.

Gloucestershire singer FKA Twigs, who is dating actor Robert Pattinson, is up for three prizes.

The 27-year-old, whose real name is Tahliah Barnett, faces Glynne, Ella Eyre, Lianne La Havas and newcomer Little Simz for the Best Female accolade.

CeeLo Green, the star behind hits such as Crazy and Forget You, will be honoured at the ceremony with the Outstanding Achievement prize

Rap star Wiley will be honoured with the inaugural Paving The Way award, for which a paving stone will be laid at his former secondary school in Bow, east London.

Naughty Boy, Lianne La Havas, Stormzy and Lethal Bizzle will also perform on the night, alongside nominees Ora, Krept and Konan, Twigs and Eyre.