Leeds hosts MOBO Awards 2015: Lethal Bizzle opens red carpet

Lethal Bizzle. PIC: Tony Johnson
Lethal Bizzle. PIC: Tony Johnson
Have your say

Lethal Bizzle opened the red carpet at the 2015 MOBO Awards in Leeds.

The grime artist is nominated for best grime act and best video for his track Fester Skank at the awards ceremony taking place at the First Direct Arena in Leeds.

Bizzle’s video features an X Factor parody called The Dench Factor and he joked that his talent search could soon make it’s way onto our screens.

“You never know. Simon Cowell better watch out,” he said.

Celebrity Big Brother star Fatman Scoop shook hands with fans as he made his way down the carpet.

Chart-topping stars such as Rita Ora, Mark Ronson and Jess Glynne face competition from grime acts Krept And Konan and JME at this year’s awards.

Ora, currently a judge on The X Factor alongside Simon Cowell, Cheryl Fernandez-Versini and Nick Grimshaw, received a nod for Best Video for Body On Me, which also features Chris Brown, while Ronson, who has enjoyed global success with Uptown Funk, his collaboration with Bruno Mars, is up for prizes in two categories - Best Male and Best Song.

This year’s Mobo Awards are dominated by London’s grime and hip hop acts, with Krept And Konan and JME receiving four nominations each.

Krept And Konan, comprising Casyo “Krept” Johnson and Karl “Konan” Wilson, released their debut album, The Long Way Home, in July.

Gloucestershire singer FKA Twigs, who is dating actor Robert Pattinson, is up for three prizes.

The 27-year-old, whose real name is Tahliah Barnett, faces Glynne, Ella Eyre, Lianne La Havas and newcomer Little Simz for the Best Female accolade.

CeeLo Green, the star behind hits such as Crazy and Forget You, will be honoured at the ceremony with the Outstanding Achievement prize.

Rap star Wiley will be honoured with the inaugural Paving The Way award, for which a paving stone will be laid at his former secondary school in Bow, east London.

Naughty Boy, Lianne La Havas, Stormzy and Bizzle will also perform on the night, alongside nominees Ora, Krept And Konan, Twigs and Eyre.