Leeds hosts MOBO Awards 2015: Krept and Konan want to ‘annihilate’

Krept and Konan. PIC: Tony Johnson
Krept and Konan. PIC: Tony Johnson
Have your say

Hip hop act Krept And Konan said their plan was to “annihilate” the competition as they took to the red carpet at the 2015 MOBO Awards in Leeds.

The duo, real names Casyo Johnson and Karl Wilson, lead nominations with nods in four categories: Best Male, Best Album, Best Song and Best Hip Hop.

“We were annihilated by Sam Smith last year so we want to annihilate this time,” said Krept.

Lethal Bizzle, Celebrity Big Brother star Fatman Scoop and Ella Eyre also greeted fans as they arrived on the carpet.

Chart-topping stars such as Rita Ora, Mark Ronson and Jess Glynne face competition from grime acts Krept And Konan and JME at this year’s awards.

Ora, currently a judge on the X Factor alongside Simon Cowell, Cheryl Fernandez-Versini and Nick Grimshaw, received a nod for Best Video for Body On Me, which also features Chris Brown, while Ronson, who has enjoyed global success with Uptown Funk, his collaboration with Bruno Mars, is up for prizes in two categories - Best Male and Best Song.

This year’s Mobo Awards are dominated by London’s grime and hip hop acts, with Krept And Konan and JME receiving four nominations each.

Krept And Konan released their debut album, The Long Way Home, in July.

Gloucestershire singer FKA Twigs, who is dating actor Robert Pattinson, is up for three prizes.

The 27-year-old, whose real name is Tahliah Barnett, faces Jess Glynne, Ella Eyre, Lianne La Havas and newcomer Little Simz for the Best Female accolade.

CeeLo Green, the star behind hits such as Crazy and Forget You, will be honoured at the ceremony with the Outstanding Achievement prize.

Rap star Wiley will be honoured with the inaugural Paving The Way award, for which a paving stone will be laid at his former secondary school in Bow, east London.

Naughty Boy, Lianne La Havas, Stormzy and Lethal Bizzle will also perform on the night, alongside nominees Rita Ora, Krept And Konan, FKA Twigs and Ella Eyre.