Artistic signs designed by Leeds school pupils set to deem 140 city playgrounds smoke-free

editorial image
Have your say

Health-conscious Leeds youngsters have penned creative ‘no smoking’ signs that will help make over 140 playgrounds in the city smoke-free.

More than 100 artistic school pupils submitted entries to a sign design competition, organised by Leeds City Council and the YEP, which were whittled down to five winning pieces.

The bright and bold designs have been reproduced and will be displayed in council-owned play areas from January to reinforce its move to introduce a voluntary smoking ban at the facilities.

The council’s smoke-free play area drive follows similar moves by local authorities in the UK and abroad to reduce passive smoking and protect children.

Coun Lucinda Yeadon, executive member for children, and Coun Lisa Mulherin, chair of the Leeds Health and Wellbeing Board, have welcomed some of the competition winners to Leeds Civic Hall for a special presentation.

Coun Yeadon said: “Smoke-free play areas are a great example of the city’s commitment to inspiring a smoke-free generation and I thank all the children who put time and effort into submitting designs and ideas, as the winners and all the entrants inspired the work we are doing.”

The competition caught the eye of health professionals at the Chartered Institute of Environmental Health (CIEH), who will use examples of the artwork for their guidance on changes to smoking laws.

In total 10 children were rewarded for their efforts with shopping vouchers provided by CIEH and Leeds City Council’s Public Health team as well as Leeds Rhinos tickets and Tropical World passes.

Prize winners for the Leeds City Council and YEP competition

Overall winner: Adaeze Ulebor – Yr 4 – St Bartholomew’s C of E Primary

Runners up: Jack Eastwood – Class 2 – Aberford Primary

Batrimi Onwudili – Yr 4 - St Bartholomew’s C of E Primary

Commended: Dubem Osme – Year 4 – St Bartholomew’s C of E Primary

Caitlin Ferguson Walsh - Year 8 - Temple Moor High School

Alicia Smith – Year 7 - Rodillian Academy

CIEH provided vouchers for the following children

Poppy Dalton, Year 3, Kippax Ash Tree Primary School, Kippax, Leeds

Tia Hollifield, Year 2, Beechwood Primary School, Seacroft, Leeds

Libby Atuy, Year 4, Kippax Ash Tree Primary School, Kippax, Leeds

Cali Evans, Year 4, Tockwith Church of England Primary School, York

Charlie Thom, Year 5, Green Lane Primary Academy, Garforth, Leeds

Hospital Director Andrew Eadsforth pictured with the Stryker Mako Robotic Arm Surgery System, at the  Nuffield Hospital, Leeds...21st November 2017 ..Picture by Simon Hulme

Robotic arm will transform hip and knee surgery in Leeds