2014 YEP Best of Health Awards winners revealed

Have your say

TODAY we can announce your heroes of healthcare.

The winners of the Yorkshire Evening Post Best of Health Awards 2014 have been revealed at a glitzy ceremony in Leeds.

The winners from the 2014 YEP Best of Health Awards. PIC: Simon Hulme

The winners from the 2014 YEP Best of Health Awards. PIC: Simon Hulme

From doctors to dentists, midwives to mental health workers, the event highlights those who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in their role.

This year’s awards, sponsored by Bradford-based Sovereign Health Care, were the best supported yet with hundreds of nominations.

Our judging panel had the tough task of reviewing all those put forward, as well as picking the shortlist and winners.

Presenter Clare Frisby, from BBC Look North, told guests at the awards ceremony today: “Every single person or team who has been shortlisted in the awards should feel extremely proud of their achievement.

“Many of the examples were so moving and really encapsulated what makes a fabulous health worker.”

Nicola Furbisher, managing editor of the YEP, said: “Everyone nominated has done something special, is someone special, someone who goes above and beyond what is expected of them.

“That is something to be proud of and it is something the Yorkshire Evening Post is proud to recognise.”

* See Tuesday’s YEP for a report and photos from the awards, and pick up Wednesday’s paper for an eight-page supplement featuring interviews with all the winners.

Here are the lucky winners:

Carer of the Year

WINNER: Samantha Rowley

RUNNER- UP: Jean Lumley

Dentist of the Year

WINNER: Simon Agabeg

Doctor of the year

WINNER: Safia Jabeen

Emergency Response Worker of the Year

WINNER: Jason Carlyon

Mental health worker of the year

WINNER: Eric Cargill

Midwife of the year

WINNER: Jan Hall

Nurse of the year

WINNER: Jane Nicholson

RUNNER-UP: Gill Fallon

Pharmacist of the year

WINNER: Manoj Kumar

Team of the Year

WINNER: Yorkshire Ambulance Service Restart a Heart Team

Unsung hero

WINNER: Lisa Beaumont

RUNNER-UP: Amanda Brook