Green fingered efforts of Leeds residents rewarded

Have your say

MORE than 350 people entered the ‘Leeds in Bloom’ competition, opening their back gardens for judging.

A prestigious ceremony took place last night at Leeds Town Hall, when the best gardeners were rewarded for their tireless efforts.

Leeds City Council bosses received more than 350 entries for the Gardens competition, with judging undertaken by Leeds City Council’s Parks and Countryside staff.

The judging is broken down into 19 wards across the city.

On hand to present the winners with their prizes was Councillor Jack Dunn, Leeds City Council’s lead member for the environment and Alderman Frank Robinson, who is chairman of Leeds Floral Initiative.

Coun Jack Dunn said: “We are extremely lucky as a city, to have so many fantastic residents and in bloom groups who are doing such a fantastic job in keeping our communities looking so great.

“As part of our Leeds in Bloom awards, we had the opportunity to recognise those residents who keep their gardens looking so beautiful, and with over 350 entries, the standard was extremely high.

“It was lovely to be able to meet all the winners at our in bloom awards and I am already looking forward to seeing the results of next year’s garden competition.”

One winner was charity fundraiser Les Marshall, of Colton, who received a silver award for his garden. He said: “I am delighted and it is an honour to attend the town hall. I like doing my garden, so it is nice to be recognised.”

Businesses were also judged for their efforts. Many winners, such as fish shop owner Simon Mortimer of Park Fisheries, Beeston, who was awarded gold for his business premises, which is popular with Leeds fans. He said: “We won gold this time. It is a lot of work by my partner Gail Cursley but worth the effort.”

Overall winners from each council ward included:

Pauline Wilkinson of Seacroft, gold; Neville Boocock, of Wetherby, gold; Mr and Mrs B Radcliffe, of Meanwood, gold; Mandy Cohen, of Hunslet, gold; Ken Cussons, of Colton, gold; Graham Sykes, of Kippax, gold; Carol and Michael Abbott, of Cookridge, gold; Ann Hill, of Chapel Allerton, gold; Anthony Walker, of Bramley, gold; Simon Jordan, of Burley Road, silver; Richard Bramma, of Bramhope, gold; James Robertson, of Guiseley, gold; Susan Austin, of Pudsey, gold; Stanley Bottomley, of Morley, gold; Janet Wilkinson, of Alwoodley, gold; John walksh, of Swillington, gold; Ernest Whitfield, of Rothwell, gold; Mr B Holingworth, of Morley, gold.

Leeds Civic Hall golden owl. Picture: Ian Heszelgrave

Leeds council cabinet meeting today - six things to watch out for