Teachers strike divides public opinion as 100 Leeds schools to be hit walkouts

Have your say

More than 100 schools will be hit by strike action by teachers tomorrow forcing parents to find childcare or take time off work.

The one-day walkout is a protest over changes to pay, pensions and the Government’s approach to education.

At least 61 primary and secondary schools in Leeds will be closed all day and 46 have confirmed partial closures.

The Government has condemned the strike action but teaching union leaders said school staff are angry at the way the profession is being treated by Education Secretary Michael Gove.

The disruption has split opinion among parents.

Mum-of-one Joanne Hart, 29, from Beeston, has a son at Broomfield South SILC in Leeds.

She said: “I am supporting them. The teachers I know go above and beyond their job role with little or no acknowledgement let alone pay. I’m glad of an extra day with my son.”

But YEP reader and parent Vickie Clayton said: “I am appalled at the strike. I’m having to take time off work unpaid just to cover childcare.

“Maybe I should invoice the school for my time off work? They invoice us if we take the children out during school times.”

The strike by the two main unions representing classroom teachers is part of a long-running national campaign.

Nick Raine, National Union of Teachers regional officer for Yorkshire, said: “I know that parents in Leeds will share our concerns.

“We are taking strike action because Michael Gove is refusing to meet or negotiate with us.

“Free schools and academies are causing chaos.

“We have got a record number of unqualified people in classrooms and education is being deregulated.

But the Government won’t consult with teachers, their representatives or anyone to do with education.”

A Department for Education spokesman said: “All strikes will do is disrupt parents’ lives, hold back children’s education and damage the reputation of the profession.”

Industrial action 1 October – school closure position at 11am 27/9/13

Schools that will be closed to pupils on Tuesday 1 October

Beechwood Primary

Boston Spa School

Bracken Edge Primary

Bramham Primary

Bramham Primary

Bramley St.Peter’s C of E Primary

Christ the King

City of Leeds

Cobden Primary

Cockburn College of Arts

Drighlington Primary School

East Garforth Primary

Ebor Gardens Primary

Elmete Wood (BESD SILC)

Gildersome Primary

Gledhow Primary

Grange Farm Primary

Greenmount Primary


Hill Top Infants

Hunslet St.Marys C of E Primary

Ingram Road Primary

Kirkstall Valley Primary

Lawns Park Primary


Micklefield C of E Primary

Oakwood Primary

Oulton Primary

Parklands Primary

Pudsey Waterloo Primary School

Quarry Mount Primary

Raynville Primary

Richmond Hill Primary

Rothwell C of E Primary

Rothwell Primary

Royds Specialist Language College

Rufford Park Primary School

Ryecroft Primary

Sacred Heart Catholic Primary

Scholes (Elmet) Primary

Shadwell Primary

Shakespeare Primary

Shire Oak Voluntary Controlled Primary

St Mary’s C of E Boston Spa

St.John the Baptist C of E Primary

St.Marys’ Catholic Comprehensive

Stanningley Primary

Swillington Primary

Temple Moor High

Valley View Primary

Victoria Primary

Weetwood Primary

Westbrook Lane Primary

Wetherby St.James C of E Primary

Wigton Moor Primary

Woodlands Primary

Woodlesford Primary

Partial closures on Tuesday 1 October

Allerton Grange High

Beeston Hill St.Lukes C of E Primary

Birchfield Primary

Bruntcliffe High

Calverley C of E Primary

Calverley Parkside Primary

Carlton Primary


East Ardsley Primary

Farsley Farfield Primary

Featherbank Infants Horsforth

Greenhill Primary

Harehills Primary

Holy Rosary & St.Annes Catholic Primary

Horsforth Newlaithes Junior

Horsforth St.Margarets C of E Primary

Horsforth West End

Hunslet St.Josephs Catholic Primary

Immaculate Heart of Mary

Iveson Primary

Kerr Mackie Primary

Lower Wortley Primary

Meadowfield Primary School

Methley Primary & Nursery School

Moor Allerton Hall Primary

Otley Ashfield Primary

Otley Prince Henry’s


Pudsey Lowtown Primary

Pudsey Southroyd Primary

Pudsey Tyersal Primary

Rawdon St Peter’s C of E Primary

Rothwell St.Marys Catholic Primary

Roundhay School

Roundhay St.Johns C of E Primary

Strawberry Fields Primary School

Summerfield Primary

Talbot Primary

Wetherby High

White Laith Primary

This information will be updated at www.leeds.gov.uk as schools continue to confirm their position.

Approval for unique new Leeds Beckett University building with rooftop track