Locations of 54 new defibrillators to be installed across Leeds revealed

More than 50 new defibrillators are set to be installed across Leeds.

By The Newsroom
Sunday, 24th November 2019, 6:00 am

The potentially lifesaving machines are used to give an electric shock to someone who's in cardiac arrest, and the council is trying to address a shortage of them in some parts of the city.

Under plans going before councillors for approval on Monday, every single ward will have at least four defibrillators.

Of 54 new machines set to be installed, five of them will be in the Burmantofts and Richmond Hill area, which currently has none.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The rollout of the defibrillators, if approved, will be accompanied by free training in how to use them for some members of the public.

Kirkstall, Armley, Middleton Park and Beeston and Holbeck will each get four extra defibrillators apiece.

Farnley and Wortley and Bramley and Stanningley will also get another four.

The rollout of the defibrillators will be combined with free training for members of the community provided by Yorkshire Ambulance Service (YAS).

A report going before the Leeds City Council Executive Board on Monday, said: "The provision of CPADs in wards with high need provides value for money as the earlier that a shock is given by a defibrillator the better the person’s chance of survival.

"Studies have shown that a shock given within 3 minutes of cardiac arrest

provides the best chance of survival and that even one minute of further delay

reduces that chance substantially.

"There is significant variation across the city on the number of (defibrillators) located in different wards and to ensure they are accessible across all wards there needs to be a minimum of four in each ward."

The local authority has put aside £74,000 for the scheme.

In numbers - where the new defibrillators will be located

Burmantofts and Richmond Hill - 5

Middleton Park - 4

Farnley and Wortley - 4

Armley - 4

Beeston and Holbeck - 4

Bramley and Stanningley - 4

Kirkstall - 4

Temple Newsam - 3

Gipton and Harehills - 3

Cross Gates and Whinmoor - 3

Chapel Allerton - 2

Headingley/Hyde Park - 2

Kippax and Methley - 2

Moortown - 2

Alwoodley - 2

Ardsley and Robin Hood - 2

Morley North - 1

Morley South - 1

Rothwell - 1

Roundhay Park - 1

Local Democracy Reporting Service