Restaurant review: Horto, Harrogate

7 September 2016.......    Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate
Oyster and caviar.
 Picture Tony Johnson.
7 September 2016....... Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate Oyster and caviar. Picture Tony Johnson.
0
Have your say

It was supposed to be a temporary pop-up, but Elaine Lemm hopes Horto at Rudding Park is here to stay.

Possibly, this is the first time I have written a restaurant review knowing that what I tell you I have eaten you will not be able to have.

7 September 2016.......    Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate
Yorkshire mallard, pine, malt, trompette de la mort.
 Picture Tony Johnson.

7 September 2016....... Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate Yorkshire mallard, pine, malt, trompette de la mort. Picture Tony Johnson.

As you read this review, all will have changed; such is the nature of Horto, the exciting, new ‘pop up’ restaurant at Rudding Park Hotel, Harrogate.

If you don’t know what will be on offer next week, then neither does head chef Murray Wilson; it is the magnificent vegetable garden at Rudding which is the palette for his creativity and very much the dictator of the menu there.

Horto popped up in early June and seems not to be popping off anywhere soon despite the early promise of it just being around for the summer.

The restaurant is above the golf shop and, will be moving to a more permanent home (perhaps) following completion of the new spa next spring.

7 September 2016.......    Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate
 Picture Tony Johnson.

7 September 2016....... Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate Picture Tony Johnson.

I like this transience, which, by its very nature creates a sense of urgency to visit just in case it should suddenly disappear.

It keeps us all on our toes and also gives Rudding a chance to try out what is an entirely different offering for them.

Understandably, given the dictatorship of the garden, Horto takes the tasting menu route.

Love them or hate them, they are here to stay and knowing Murray from his days at Norse in Harrogate, this one I suspected would be the former.

7 September 2016.......    Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate
Wye Valley Blueberies, skyr cheesecake, cardamom, elderflower
 Picture Tony Johnson.

7 September 2016....... Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate Wye Valley Blueberies, skyr cheesecake, cardamom, elderflower Picture Tony Johnson.

They take it a step further at Horto, with a recommendation that you eat blind and, before you panic, not blindfolded.

The menu is there but eating without the reading of it, will, apparently, give you a better experience. Fair enough, I was willing but, just like the answers underneath a crossword, I found it hard not to peek.

Each dish – and there’s a lot of them – is carefully explained and for the most part, also served by the chef and the front of house.

This orchestrated approach gives time for the chef to deliver the story at the table before beating a hasty retreat. I have rarely seen chefs being so involved with guests yet, here at Horto, it works.

7 September 2016.......    Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate
Yorkshire mallard, pine, malt, trompette de la mort.
 Picture Tony Johnson.

7 September 2016....... Horto at Rudding Park Harrogate Yorkshire mallard, pine, malt, trompette de la mort. Picture Tony Johnson.

So to the food. It is brilliant, which the sager part of me knew it would be, but hey, you never know.

Starting at the top there are two types of good bread and three kinds of butter; Lincolnshire Poacher, toasted hay, and the third a horseradish dripping which made me think of long ago Sunday teas with my grandmother.

Three ‘snacks’ arrive, one by one, starting with a tiny bowl of clear in colour and gorgeous in flavour tomato water with mozzarella and sliver of dehydrated tomato.

The 100-day aged beef came covered with a leaf of tree spinach and sprinkled with a porcini and chocolate powder. Finally came Morecambe Bay shrimps and a potage with hints of cinnamon and the heat of cayenne.

This astute technicality and cleverness of taste and texture combination stayed with us on the journey through the menu.

En-route, we encountered Cornish mackerel, sea mustard and epazote (the musky flavoured Mexican herb known for its ability to reduce the side effect of eating beans).

The tenderest of Scottish squid was arguably the best I have eaten in 20 years. With this came carrot and fennel and citrusy notes of Yuzu – a great word for the Scrabble board.

There was North Sea wild halibut with chicken skin, nasturtium, garlic and a meat dish of Nidderdale grouse which sat quietly at the edge of a large plate with pied de bleu mushrooms, cabbage cooled in fat and Pedro Ximénez sherry.

English berries as pre-dessert and theatricality with dry ice and spoons resulting in a rum flavoured puffball with blueberries, and skyr cheesecake brought the meal to a close.

There is so much here to praise that it is hard for me to mention niggles, but the can of water at £3.50 for 330ml of imported water beggars belief.

On a happier note, whoever put together the drinks and wines knows their stuff. The list is concise yet packed with quality.

Murray’s food has matured from what I first encountered three years ago. I do miss his sense of adventure just a little, and occasionally I felt he played it a little safe, but he does now have a very different audience.

However, this meal had flashes of absolute brilliance – squid – say no more.

And his team deserve just as much praise, a class act all round.

This place is brilliant, I hope it continues. Dinner for two with two glasses of wine each came to £155, far from excessive considering the quality of food and the level of theatrics which accompanies it.

Time is running out for restaurants to enter the 2017 Yorkshire Evening Post Oliver Awards. The deadline for submissions is Monday November 21.

It’s easy to enter our awards - simply log onto www.oliverawards.co.uk and follow the links.

There are 16 categories covering all kinds of food, from Italian and Indian to European and World, not to mention awards to celebrate service and much more besides. Last year, we extended the awards, by popular demand, to include two new categories: Best Street Food and Best Rural, which extends the geographical reach of the awards beyond the Leeds postcode.

A special supplement will be printed in next week’s YEP listing all the nominees for the 2017 awards, which will take place at Elland Road Conference Centre in March.

FACTFILE

HORTO, HARROGATE

Address: Rudding Park Hotel, Follifoot, Harrogate, North Yorkshire HG3 1JH

Website: www.ruddingpark.co.uk/food-drink/horto

Tel: 01423 871350

Opening times: Tuesday-Saturday

Food 5/5

Value 4/5

Atmosphere 4/5

Service 4/5

City Buzz Big Night Out with Gusto restaurants - you would be Christmas crackers to miss this amazing reader offer

READER OFFER: City Buzz Big Night Out - Gusto Christmas meal and drink for just £25pp